Describing a book to a potential audience

23 Feb

I’ve written a book and I’ve put it onto Amazon Kindle. I’ve set up a FaceBook page and I’m keeping this blog.  Sales are slowing down but I’m sure there is a potential audience I am not currently reaching. One reviewer described my anti-hero as being ‘James Bond’s father,’ which I rather like. As the book is about the beginnings of the British intelligence agencies in 1909 it is rather appropriate, and there is enough action and gadgetry to please any fan of Ian Fleming’s books.

Then again, it is set at the same time as John Buchan’s book ‘The 39 Steps,’ though I hope it is less casually racist than that book and has many fewer plot holes.

I was reading of the popularity of the TV series ‘Downton Abbey’ in the States, which starts around the same time as my book and also involves life in English country houses. But how can I introduce my book to this potential audience without trying to indicate that it is primarily a drama of class and manners? There is no point in misrepresenting the book to this audience as they would only return it.

Another series I might try to latch onto is the Bourne novels by Robert Ludlum. There is none of the paranoia or superhuman efforts so beloved of Jason Bourne fans.

Part of the research I do is into the technology of the era. I now know a little of the cars, aeroplanes, naval vessels and motor bikes of the time. In doing this research I came across a character I really had to include in the story, an ex-secretary called Dorothy Levitt who held the women’s land speed record for several years, was the first British woman to learn to fly and also raced motor boats. Besides that she looked stunning and mysteriously disappeared in 1910. What better suggestion than that she was working for the intelligence agencies?

One Response to “Describing a book to a potential audience”

  1. http://www.youtube.com/ April 26, 2013 at 6:38 am #

    Hi! I just want to give you a big thumbs up for your excellent info you’ve got right here on this post. I am coming back to your web site for more soon.

Leave a Reply

